Nikon D200 and 60mm AF-S f/2.8 compatibility

I have been using this Nikon lens (AFS Micro-Nikkor 60 mm f/2.8 ED to give it its full name) for a couple of months and overall I am very pleased with its build quality, its sharpness and the ease with which it can be focused manually. What is not so wonderful is its autofocus capabilities.

For most subjects it jumps into focus as quickly as one would want and expect from as AF-S lens, but in many quite ordinary focusing situations it winds in and out, hunting for focus. It is worse at short camera to subject distances but there are times when it will hunt a little at almost any distance.

I have changed the focusing set up to group dynamic-AF and in Custom Settings I have (a)4 set at ‘Closest Subject’. It may have improved things – I think it has.

I have heard the problem exists with the D300 as well as with the D200, but I only have experience of the latter.

That is not to say that it is terrible, but I wouldn’t use this lens as a street lens, when I wanted fast focus. On the other hand its macro capability is as good as claimed by its specifications, and I am very glad to have it.





Leave a Reply

