WordPress.Com Reblogging Blogged The Wrong Post

I was reading an article in Time magazine entitled ‘How Kevin Costner Went From Fish-Man to Oil Spill Expert’

It starts:

In his magnum opus Waterworld, Kevin Costner’s character is introduced peeing into a machine that turns human urine into drinkable water. Now Costner has revealed that for the past 15 years he has been working on a similar machine in real life — and BP is interested.
Spurred to action by scenes from the Exxon Valdez disaster, Costner and his brother in the early ’90s envisioned a machine that would separate oil from water using a centrifuge motion. Costner poured $20 million of his own money…

This is the newsfeed for the article:

http://newsfeed.time.com/2010/06/16/how-kevin-costner-went-from-fish-man-to-oil-spill-expert/

I ‘liked’ it and then decided to reblog it.

The reblog link is http://wordpress.com/#quickpress&reblog=12783068,7854

It is the wrong Quickpress link aand it brought this up into my WordPress.com post:

Obama and Medvedev’s Lunchtime Diversion: Ray’s Hell Burger

“Hold the pickles, hold the lettuce. Special orders, don’t upset us!” No, this was a diplomatic meeting worthy of something more than a trip to the Burger King lounge. But the song was definitely on the minds of the servers at Ray’s Hell Burger in Arlington, Va. when U.S. President Barack Obama and Russian President Dmitry Medvedev stopped in for a Thursday lunch. The AP reports that both leaders sat at a table with interpreters, drawing cheers…

You can find that article at:

http://newsfeed.time.com/2010/06/24/obama-and-medvedevs-lunchtime-diversion-rays-hell-burger/

So what is going wrong?

Try it yourself if you have a WordPress.com blog, and would you leave a comment here to let me know what happens when you try it?

I’d like to know how the reblog can go wrong without someone manually coding the feed to deliver the wrong article.

9 thoughts on “WordPress.Com Reblogging Blogged The Wrong Post

  1. Pingback: Wordpress.Com Reblogging Blogged The Wrong Post (via Light Reading) « Theme Tester

  2. Hi,

    Picked up your comment at Timethief’s post on the subject, so I tried your Kostner link, reblogged it and, like you, got something entirely different (a cat with artificial paws).

    I think it only works properly with WP blogs, though – that was my feeling, anyway.

  3. Yes – it’s odd.

    By the way, hello from someone else who has used oats (not 50% though, just a good handful) in his bread. :-D

    All the best

    • Ah, yes Richard, thank you.

      I tried the reblog just now and I can see that it is a redirection to whatever is the latest post rather than as I thought at the time, a redirection to a specific post.

      I have written to Support on the principle that so long as I can’t use the touted feature as intended (i.e. dictate which post I pull in) with the Time blog, then my WordPress installation is bugged even though the problem with the reblog feature may emanate from the code on another blog.

      It occurs to me that had I seen the Costner article and reblogged it when it was the latest article in the Time Feed, the reblogging would have pulled that in.

      What would then have happened to the wording on my article when the Costner article was no longer the latest article at Time?

      I’ll try an experiment with what is today the latest article which is entitled “Will Tropical Storm Alex Hit the Oil Spill?”

  4. To Support at WordPress:

    I did: tried to pull in the Kevin Costner post on the oil recovery machine he invented. The post is at http://newsfeed.time.com/2010/06/16/how-kevin-costner-went-from-fish-man-to-oil-spill-expert/

    I saw: the Kevin Costner post and the reblog feature at the top of my page because Time runs on WordPress.comVIP

    I expected: the Coster post to be pulled when I reblogged but in fact it is always whatever is the latest post from http://newsfeed.time.com/ that is pulled in.

  5. Hey – nice blog, just looking around some blogs, seems a pretty nice platform you are using. I’m currently using WordPress for a few of my sites but looking to change one of them over to a platform similar to yours as a trial run.

Leave a Reply

