The Moon – Nikon D5100 And 35mm Lens

Well it was never going to be a close up shot, that’s for sure. But I had to have a go when the moon was supposed to be at its largest apparent size last month on May 6th in Berkeley, California.

The EXIF data tells me that I shot it at ISO 100, f2.5 and 1/800th of a second with no exposure compensation.

So here is the full frame and a crop. In the crop you can see the bushes that obstructed my view and something that was flying by – a bird or a bat, perhaps.

I think the amount of information that is recorded here of the features of the surface of the moon is amazing.

What do you think?

10 thoughts on “The Moon – Nikon D5100 And 35mm Lens

  1. that IS amazing! I just love it with those little bushes and the bird… So far, I’ve never managed to ‘get a hold of’ the moon with any type of foreground. Last one, it was overcast so … no dice.

      • I’m thinking a little bit about taking the money I didn’t buy that camera for, and add them to a macro lens, but I’m not sure what to get really.

        • Here’s a link to just about all the Nikon lens lineup. I am by no expert in macro photography, but I think the received wisdom is that for close-up work, manual focus is better than autofocus, and for things that might move or fly away, a longer focal length that allows you to keep further back, is better.

          The 55mm f2.8 AIS manual focus lens has a good reputation.

          You might want to take a look at Bjørn Rørslett’s lens reviews.

        • Hey, thanks for these links and words. There’s a lot to think about — money, if nothing else :) — and this time I’ll take my time before I make a decision *grin*. I’m not going to spend a fortune on this … it will basically be for little flowers, snowflakes, frost and stuff like that..

        • Nikon do not make cheap macro lenses – unfortunately :(

          I have been thinking of getting a small camera for macro work. Even small sensor cameras can make good shots as long as you are not trying to shoot things that move, jump, fly away.

Leave a Reply

